- About us
- Visitor Information
- Jazz Festival 2017
- Room Hire
- Support Us
- Get in touch
Ushaw College trained men for the Roman Catholic priesthood for more than two centuries, from its establishment in 1808 until 2011. For much of that time it also functioned as a boarding school for boys, learning from some of the most intelligent men in the country, as well as a seminary for men destined for the Catholic priesthood.
The unique system of educating future lay and clerical students alongside each other, almost unique to Ushaw in the UK, was at odds with both the spirit and the letter of the seminary legislation of the sixteenth-century Council of Trent, which aspired to create a separate clerical caste, free from worldly contacts, lay ambitions and lay habits of life.
Ushaw’s mixed system was inherited from the English Roman Catholic colleges established in Europe following the persecution of the Catholics in the UK. Much of Ushaw's training style and class structure can be taken from these establishments, particularly that of Douai College, from which Ushaw was the descendant in northern England.
After a brief residential period at Crook Hall, which was not perfect for the purpose that was required, Bishop William Gibson began to build what would later become Ushaw College, which he christened St. Cuthbert's College. After various periods of expansion, Ushaw became what it is today, with a wealth of Pugin architecture and a grand selection of Chapel's. The training of priests and schooling of young boys destined for the seminary continued at Ushaw until 2011, when the establishment closed due to a lack of vocations within the Catholic Church for the men it had trained.
Since closure, Ushaw has been transformed into a centre for heritage and culture in the North-East, with a selection of performances and religious events taking place here. It now also offers public tours, and boasts a spectacularly well maintained garden alongside the exhibitions we have now opened. Our team of volunteers has helped us rebuild Ushaw to it's former glory, and turned it into one of the most beautiful and spiritual places in England.
635 St Aidan founds the monastery on Lindisfarne
664: Synod of Whitby; St Cuthbert (635-687) is sent to Lindisfarne
681: Foundation of St Paul’s Church, Jarrow
725: St Bede’s Ecclesiastical History of the English People
1093: Foundation of Durham Cathedral
1529: English Reformation: Henry VIII declares himself Supreme Head of the English Church
1533: Pope Clement VII excommunicates Henry
1559: Elizabeth I Act of Supremacy, declares herself Supreme Governor Church of England
1568: William Allen founds The English College at Douai
By 1700: 160 Douai Priests martyred in England.
1778 Catholic Relief Act: removed penalty of life imprisonment
from Catholic bishops, priests and schoolmasters.
1791 Catholic Relief Act: the Catholic Mass became legal in registered chapels
1794 Douai staff and students occupy Crook Hall, near Consett
1808 Ushaw opens
1829 Catholic Emancipation Act: Catholics could sit as MPs and hold most public offices
1837 Charles Newsham develops Ushaw
1850 Restoration of the Catholic Hierarchy by Pope Pius IX
1859 Junior Seminary opens at Ushaw 1902
1978 Ushaw students attend Durham University
1988 Ecumenical links with partners in Anglican and Methodist Colleges
2008 Ushaw Bicentenary
2011 Ushaw closes as a seminary for the Church.
2015 Ushaw Reopens to the public